DIY may not be for everyone

While I like to think of myself as a crafty person, I am also a very critical person. I have a strong attention to detail. I also have very high standards for my work.

For instance, when I started scrapbooking 3 years ago, I would work all weekend on 6-8 pages. I’d be so happy with my final result- at least for that day. Come the next weekend, I had 10 new ideas of how those pages could be better- and so their I’d sit, carefully pulling up pictures and starting all over.

In the end, did it look any better than the first go round? Probably not. But thats just my personality. A little perfectionist mixed with a splash of compulsion. So needless to say, I have to work pretty hard not to treat wedding crafts the same way. Besides my love for crafts, the drive to be a DIY bride is also an effort to stay on budget. My budget would be out the window if I allowed those feelings to attack all my wedding crafts.

But as nature intended it, my critical eye is glaring at my DIY invitation design. My minds racing with possible changes and improvements. I have everything ready to go to the printer, but I just can’t bring myself to do it yet. I have to let this feeling pass and feel a minimum of 90% positive that I have the right design. (I realize 100% assurance is out of reach for me)

So for now, my invitation suite is up in the air. Anyone else experience DIY remorse?

Leave a Reply

